Hourglass
8 Dec 2018 - 30 Dec 2018

Lin Yi Wei’s Riverlike Narrative and Diary

In daily life, what makes me feel the most urgent and want to do is to write. After a period of accumulation, when I looked back at these diaries, I named the selected diaries. This solo exhibition began with a diary written in the year I lived in Frankfurt and published on the social networking site. When I picked these diaries, I found out that these immediately-written and publicly-posted articles whose date numbers show a kind of repetition: January (1) 11, February (2) 12, March (3) 23, and so on I named these 11 diaries as Hourglass. It represents my life experiences and opinions on the two ways “duplicate” and “repeat”, and also hints at how I think about the position of the individual in the world. By looking back at your own shame, you can find glory. Another meaning of these numbers also represented the coexistence of two things. During that time, I reflected on the situation of queers, laborers and immigrants in Taiwan. At the same time, this was also the overlap of my three identities in Germany. Because of the accumulation of writing and exhibitions so far, I opened up the imagination of tourists, local residents and immigrants (also includes the time changed from day to night, the time immigrants of work and rest) as well as made my work an introspection of the events I have experienced.

Writing during the move

After a period of accumulation, when these diaries are re-discovered, they are no longer just recording each moment, but can be understood consistently. I named each of the selected diaries, because these diaries made me the images that I usually pass and took pictures. Thus, I began to develop paintings or other mediums. My writing is not about capturing temporary thoughts, but the inspiration for the events I have experienced. Or maybe, two things that I am thinking at the same time are linked together because of an experience. Throughout the summer of 23-year-old, I wrote “The Empty River” for the life that was reversed day and night. I wrote the “Mutual Tour” for the crowds who wandered in Tamsui, Taiwan, and wrote “Mathematics” for serving in the Immigration Department. I wrote the “hourglass” for the first year of my move to Frankfurt am Main. When “The Empty River” was carried out, it was my writing state from the time I went out in the evening to the middle of the morning. At that time, I might just go out to wander, take the last train from Taipei to Jiaoxi, and go alone until the morning. My hometown is located in Tainan and Kaohsiung. Compared to the high-speed rail, I often choose to take a bus from Taipei to and from the two places. In the process of changing the scenery all the way, with the movement of the bus, I was able to write a diary just over four hours in the car. The time required for the high-speed rail is too short. During the paintings I created during the Immigration Department and the “Night Run Series”, I often ran in the night where I live. When my body moves, the scenes of life that I usually pass through can enter my narrative along with my thoughts.

The act of writing a diary can be traced back to the time when I was working on the “Mutual Tour”. In 2010, I did some experiments in Tamshui. At that time, my task was to travel with strangers. When they picked up the camera and were ready to take pictures, I walked over to them and watched the screen on the camera. Visitors who are concentrating on taking pictures are often not easily aware of my existence. When they finish taking photos, I will chat with them and ask them to send me the photos. By the end of 2011, I was only starting this series of works because of the opportunity of the curator of the Hong-gah Museum, the Empowerment Program, by the curator Wu Muching. When I went to Tamsui more and more times, I also found that my photo collection amount was 30 from the beginning, and finally turned into 10, 5 or even 2 photos a day. From the beginning, I compared the task of activity to the later stage and evolved into a more random current writing. One day, when I returned to the Tamshui River embankment, I saw that everyone had taken the camera and stood in the position to welcome the sunset. Only me and another crying girl on the river bank were not facing the sunset. So I went to talk to her and presented the writing at the time. This piece made me realize that when I saw someone picking up the camera, my writing began.

“Duplicate” and “Repeat”

Whether it is the paintings of the Immigration Department, the “Night Run Series” or the previously developed works, my creative objects always come from the things around my daily life. From my studio in Taipei, I could overlook the community space of the opposite building. Then, I finished the painting of “Palm Trees in Bloom” in a state of almost sketching. Inside the Immigration Department building, from the large enclosed glass windows, you can see the rooftops where there are birds resting, so I created the “Bird Garden”. These are the places I often go through. Even the Immigration Department building was where I was serving for nearly a year. At the Immigration Department, desks in the morning for office hours might turn into my studio for painting in nighttime. Then, I have always had to sort it back to the original appearance in the next morning. I lived in the building of the Immigration Department at that time. These pieces were painted when I wandered around the building at night and walked around the building in the Xiaonanmen area of Taipei.

Before I lived in Germany, I really liked the work of Joseph Beuys and Anselm Kiefer. I will not specifically say which artist my work is influenced by. The reason why Joseph Beuys’ work is important to me is because I will always think about it. After a while, I will repeat and think about his work. “Repeat” is like how I organize on my personal website. I am not doing the arrangement in a way that separates each series of works, but instead puts an article on my writing. This content is how I have done it from the past to the present, how it inspired me to think about how to let me produce knowledge. For me, making a new exhibition is an opportunity to revisit your work. Through repetitive writing, the multi-faceted nature of the work can be more complete and rich.

After I moved to Germany at the end of 2016, over the past year, I was thinking about the situation of queers, labor and immigration. At the same time, this was also the overlap of my three identities in Germany. I got living expenses in Germany with the labor force, and I experienced the gay marriage law that Germany just practiced in October 2017. I was married in Germany in December of the same year. I thought that when I arrived at a new place, my original creative method might not continue. So, I just simply lived for a year, and continued to write diary. It wasn’t until a year later that I re-read the diary I wrote in Germany that I was like a scriptwriter who cracked the password and tried to find the relationship between these diaries. Some of my diary content will be posted directly on the social media platform. I found out that these immediately-written and publicly-posted articles whose date numbers show a kind of repetition: January (1) 11, February (2) 12, March (3) 23, and so on. So, this solo exhibition started with the diary I chose this year and named it “Hourglass.” It represents my life experiences and opinions on the two ways “duplicate” and “repeat”, and also hints at how I think about the position of the individual in the world. By looking back at your own shame, you can find glory. These numbers also represent the coexistence of two things.

Coexistence of things

In the winter in Frankfurt, I was inspired to write the diary of “Appreciation of Snow” because of the floor tiles pattern that was covered under the snow. Then I created the painting “The road to return Home”. The “Backyard Scenery” is a view that I can see from the kitchen every day when I live in Frankfurt am Main. The scenery here reminds me of the “Palm Trees in Bloom” in the Night Run series, so I decided to draw it. One day in April 2016, I was able to overlook the community space of the opposite building from the studio in Taipei. In the process of observing the opposite community building, I tried to find the public space that I usually overlooked or actually intended to create a neglected public space. I used the imagination of painting to show the palm flower period that was easily overlooked by pedestrians, the cave at the entrance of the parking lot, and the seascapes between the two buildings and public spaces that were privately communization integrated. They formed a peculiar but different perspective of contemporary life.

One day, I went to a resort lake in Frankfurt am Main that was very popular with locals. If you swim to the other side of the lake, you will arrive at the famous nudity camp beach. When I saw the friends wearing clothes on the shore of the nudity camp, I was very touched by the picture of the trash can in the shadows. At that time, the clothes on the body seemed to be the same as those in the shadows, so I decided to develop this work. The nudity camp originated on a coast in northern Germany, when East and West were in a period of division. However, under the pressure of the political environment, people’s common demand was to enjoy the liberation of the body in nature. This pursuit of freedom was fascinating and allowed me to think about what is freedom. From the voyeurism of the stranger’s physical desires to the service workers, and the concepts of equality and respect that the nudity camp wanted to promote, the emotional experiences covered by these three may coexist in one’s daily life.

When the 11 diaries of “Hourglass” were written, eight of them were written during the German life that various weather conditions occurred in the blink of an eye. Perhaps after a sudden strong wind, a heavy rain followed to thrown me into panic. After a while, there was a ray of sunshine shining on my face. The weather conditions here were co-existed. After experiencing these weather changes, I took inspiration from the natural environment to write about what is trust and freedom, about hard work, what life is like, and how to portray loneliness and ununderstood feelings. When the young friends around me left their hometowns to work, study, and live abroad, I was in the Immigration Department and I had the task of making an annual magazine, so I have often had to meet with the chief. In the meeting, the problem of young people’s outflows was also be discussed, but the solution proposed was to fill this gap through immigrants from Southeast Asia. As a young generation, I felt angry. At the same time, I began to come up with ideas about immigration. What is immigration? What is the relationship between immigration and mobility? So I later created the paintings of the Immigration Department and the “Night Run Series”, which also included the time immigration from day to night, the living schedule was changed. Earlier, “Mingsheng Village and People’s livelihood Village” was done during the rise of the younger generation of social movements. At the moment when social movements take place, most of the discussions will be relatively specific. So, I was thinking about it and trying to open the connection between individuals and individuals, not the way of collective action or division of labor. Through the relationship between the younger generation of social media and the younger generation, the “link” and “narrative development” between individuals and individuals may be imagined. From the tourists in the “Mutual Tour”, the local residents in “Mingsheng Village and People’s livelihood Village”, the paintings of the Immigration Department and the immigrants in the “Night Run Series”, because of the accumulation of writing and exhibitions so far, let me open Imagination of tourists, local residents and immigrants (also includes the time changed from day to night, the time immigrants of work and rest), and making my work an introspection of the current experience.

In the 2016 “Riverlike Narrative” solo exhibition, I selected Yu Lihua’s novel “Palms Again” as a clue to the exhibition. This novel is actually a novel about love. Its narrative background is Taiwan’s American aid period in the 1960s. At that time, young people left their hometown to go to the United States to study and work, and after returning home ten years later, he found differences in their values and perceptions with family and friends. The novel used palm trees to depict the mood of the protagonist in different periods.

“He remembers finally finding something to do that summer. Every night, he shuttled between San Francisco and Carmel in the long truck loaded with ice. He drove the truck that had the length of a train from twelve mid-night until five in the morning. When the world was peacefully asleep, he was awake feeling desperate. He tried to keep his blood streak-filled eyes open to look at the tortuous mountain road instead of the foot of the mountain. He was amidst a thin layer of mist and the blue sea so blue that it made his head spin. Behind him was stiffening ice that weighed thousands of kilograms; in front of him were a dozen layers of rocky cliffs that made his heart freeze. Despair, rage, and regret continued to burn inside. He slowly crawled and drove, struggling through the most lonesome road this mortal world has known”. -Extracted from a full-length novel in Lihua “Palms Again” published in 1967.

The contents of the “Palms Again” on the ice-carrying truck, as well as the Korean film “A Taxi Driver” and the Japanese novel “Spring, Meet in the Barnes Department Store”, which affects me deeply, the emotional experience that the grassroots personnel can’t talk about in the face of repeated daily situations are presented. In the “Hourglass” diary, started from the wrong French book that I could not read, and ended with the feeling of not understanding in the psychological aspect. From “Appreciation of Snow” and the scene that the steering wheel turning counterclockwise in the movie, to find out the original look of life and the power to regain courage. In the wave of excavation history in Taiwan in recent years, I also reflect on it. When I regard the vacancy of history as an existence, the other side I can do is to open up the exploration and discussion of individuals in different emotions. It implies the dilemma of life, facing the oppressive and shameful parts of life, and realizing the hope that can be obtained by the possibility of coexistence of things in the gradual loss of spiritual contemporary life.

沙漏
2018/12/8 - 2018/12/30

文|賴佩君
在筆尖中,周而復始地專注林奕維個展「沙漏」

位於舊房子區的㮣藝術,像嵌在街屋中的一個明亮的燈箱。因此對林奕維個展「沙漏」的第一印象,是一個精緻的白盒子。本次展出的10件作品,尺幅多半較小,輕巧地在空間中漾開,另有林奕維的日記,印出成一張張單張,拿著在展場走來走去,配著哪件畫作閱讀似乎都可以。

向來重視展場環境性格的林奕維,雖然不確定是否刻意,但相較於2016年他在谷公館的個展「川型敘事」中所呈現的,那些熱帶的、潮濕厚重的空氣,「沙漏」輕快而乾爽,當時那些高低起伏的夜跑場景設計,也不復存在,改由潔白的環境來襯出作品。這或許和他在創作時所在的環境有關,當年在台灣的林奕維,與現今移居德國的林奕維,從體感、觸覺到視覺經驗,想必有很大的不同。而做為一個總是將自身生活反映在作品中的藝術家,他的人生變化歷程,在此誠實地展現著。

周而復始的行進狀態

「沙漏」這個主題,精確地指出了日日生活的周而復始。行進中的狀態,總是出現在林奕維的作品中。行進有著不同的維度,就像星球有自轉,亦有公轉,自轉的是他穩定的生活節奏與移動路徑,公轉的是他與世界的距離,固然受到真實人生中持續的異鄉人狀態影響,但在心情上,也似乎有意與世界保持一定的距離觀看著,但又不致真正的遠離,像繞著恒星轉動那樣。

林奕維2016年的個展「川型敘事」中,有許多件作品都像是他一邊慢跑,途中隨手即拍各式有趣風景,再轉成畫作,甚至有正方形的作品,說是Instagram上看到的照片也不為過,生活的吉光片羽,不時地更新著。但在2年後的「沙漏」中,即拍的氣氛明顯下降,作品們的「時間」變長了,雖然還是生活流動中切下的一片風景,尤其尺幅較小的畫作如《Schleudern (脫水)》或《更衣間》,仍然保有速寫的感覺,或是《停車場》,畫下了某次路途上看到的停車場,在構圖上顯得寫意,切掉建築物的一角也不可惜。但光是不再使用方形構圖,拉開長寬的比例差距,至少就顯示了視角的改變:時而在高處,從建築物的窗戶向外看,所以是直的;時而在路過的時候記下風景的碎片,平行走過街道,景色平行流過,所以是橫的。

在德國生活的林奕維,行進中的狀態還持續著,但卻有些改變,或許是受到德國不時驟變的天氣影響,或是生活在新的環境,喚回了感官的敏銳度,也明顯地感受到情緒較為舒展。在《互為陰影:天體營湖邊》、《今晚DJ放的歌好聽》中,有著拉長的、彩虹般的彩條筆觸,那不是環境的顏色,是林奕維放了一部分的自己在風景中,當下的他,顯得自在而放心。又如《金色手環》中那隻手臂,飾品與衣服紋路都隨著車子搖動著,或《回家路上》一塊塊近乎抽象的顏色,顯然已完全不在寫生的狀態,畫的是新奇的目光,簡單的愉悅。

另一個行進狀態的改變,則帶來了些許風格的變化,林奕維凝望風景的時間似乎變長了,這讓他的畫作有了個變慢的快門,而稍微跳出了即拍的感覺。凝望的發生,未必是真的坐在景色前面,也包括了林奕維回頭在腦中尋找畫面,重新望回那個時刻的狀態,不只是風景,還有自己的狀態。若畫作中有人物,則更為明顯,例如《在陽台上》,像是靜靜觀察著對方,對方在那裡待了多久,自己也就待了多久。

也或許有些作品的時間感,是來自於作畫習慣,景色在眼前發生後,過了一陣子才開始作畫,放久了之後細節變得不甚確定,但又加入了更多思緒,以及自身的狀態等視覺之外的元素,於是有了《園丁與樹牆》那樣近乎抽象的作品,和以台灣的景色為基礎、仔細著墨了遠方建築造型的《後院風景》相比,《園丁與樹牆》則全然是記憶中的風景,在腦中翻了幾輪後,只記得大片混雜的綠,沒有細節,只剩燦爛。

筆尖與專注力的越加凝聚

綜觀林奕維一路以來的創作,可以看出書寫是其主要的方法。他持續書寫行為與圖像紀錄,11篇日記內文,全是生活靈光一閃的時刻,可看出林奕維對生活時時保持著清晰與敏銳。他的繪畫與文字似並無主副之分,先用文字汲取流動的日日生活,或許搭配攝影,保留一部分的當下現場;繪畫則是另一個整理記憶的階段工作,或許也是最為全面的,不只是畫下景色,而是盡可能記錄當下自己的狀態,包含一切思緒和視線所及,這使得這些畫作發揮了回憶和定錨的作用,彷彿是一本圖文書,兩者交織前進著。

這樣的創作方法,使得林奕維似乎需要非常專注於生活,並擁有反芻記憶的能力。繪畫只是另一種書寫的形式,一切都指向當下的那個專注至極的自己。如同林奕維自己描述的,在開始作畫之前,他花上許多的時間,只是等待。

但從畫作看來,林奕維擁有著十分乾脆的運筆習慣,油彩有時很稀近透明,露出畫布的底色,因為顏色太薄,留下一切無論對錯的痕跡,有時多色油彩直接沾了抹上,毫不拖泥帶水,也不曖昧地調和色彩。但林奕維並非長年堅守一定繪畫風格的藝術家,既然沒有特定的習慣支撐創作,那些看起來狂放的線條,只有可能是專注與苦惱的結晶。

寫字的筆,日日不停穩定運行,而繪畫的筆,則是在漫長的深思與等待後,銳利切下。可以說「沙漏」是林奕維經過1年德國生活後,提出的關於時間,與日日行進狀態的解答,或許其實什麼也沒特別展現,唯有林奕維好好面對生活,時刻全神專注的樣貌。

 

林奕維的川型敘事與日記
在日常生活之中,讓我當下感到最急迫想做的事情,便是書寫。經過一段時間的積累,當我回過頭觀看這些日記,我會為挑選過的日記命名。此次個展以我在法蘭克福居住的這一年,所書寫並公開在社群網站上的日記開始,當我挑選這些日記時,發現我即時張貼的日期數字就像是一種重複,1月11日、2月12日、3月23日等等,我將這11篇日記命名為沙漏,它代表了我對於“重複”和“反覆”這兩件事情的經歷與觀點,也暗示了我是如何去思考個體在世界中的位置,藉由回看自身的羞恥,才能找到榮耀之處,這些數字的另一個意義,也代表了兩個事物的並存。這段時間,我反思關於同志、勞工與移民在台灣的處境,同時,這也是我在德國的三種身份的交疊。因累積至今的書寫與展覽,讓我開啟了對於遊客、在地居民與移民(裡頭也包括了從日移到夜,作息改變的時間移民)的想像,並使我的作品成為了對當下經歷事件的反省。

在移動中書寫
經過一段時間的累積,當我重新翻找出這些日記時,它們不再只是記錄每個當下,而是能被連貫性的閱讀,我為挑選出來的每篇日記命名,因為這些日記而讓我平時經過、隨手一拍的圖像有了意義,從而開始發展繪畫或其他媒材的作品。我的書寫並不是要去捕捉靈光一現的想法,而是當下經歷的事件對於我的啟發,亦或是我同時在思考的兩件事情,因為某個經歷而連結在一起。我在23歲的整個夏天因夜出日歸的生活而寫了《空的河道》、遊蕩在台北淡水的擁擠人群裡寫了《共遊計劃》、在移民署服役時期書寫了《數學》、移居至法蘭克福的第一年書寫了《沙漏》。在進行《空的河道》時,那時候的書寫狀態是我傍晚出門到早晨回家中間這段時間所發生的,我可能只是出門遊蕩,坐末班火車從台北到礁溪,獨自一個人晃到早晨才回家。我的老家在台南與高雄,相較於坐高鐵,我經常選擇坐客運從台北往返兩地,在一路風景更換的過程中,隨著巴士的移動,在車上四個多小時的時間,我才剛好能寫下一篇文章,高鐵反而太快了。在創作移民署時期的繪畫與《夜跑系列》畫作的時候,我經常在我生活的地方夜跑,當我的身體移動的時候,平時經過的生活周遭景物,則能隨同我的思考一起進入我的敘事當中。
書寫日記這件事,可以回溯到我在進行《共遊計劃》這件作品的時候。2010年,我到淡水做了一些實驗,那時候給自己的任務是跟陌生的遊客一起旅行,當他們拿起相機準備拍照的時候,我就會走到他們身旁一同看著相機上的螢幕,專心拍照的遊客通常不容易意識到我的存在,等他們拍照完畢,我會跟他們聊天並且請他們將照片寄給我。到了2011年末,因為鳳甲美術館的策展人培力計劃,經由吳牧青策展人公開徵件與展覽發表的機會,我才又開始做這件作品。當我去淡水的次數多了,我也發現我的照片搜集數量從一開始的一天30張,到最後變成了一天10張、5張甚至只有2張。我從一開始比較活動式的任務,發展到後期,演變成更隨機性的當下書寫。某一天,當我返回淡水河堤的路上時,我看見所有人都已經拿好相機、站好位置迎接夕陽的到來,只有我和河堤上另一個哭泣的女生不是正對著夕陽,於是我去找她聊天,並且將當下的書寫呈現在展覽上。這件作品讓我意識到,當我在看見某個人拿起相機的那一刻,其實我的書寫便開始了。

重複與反覆
不論是移民署時期的畫作、《夜跑系列》或者是之前發展的作品,我的創作對象始終來自於我日常生活周遭的事物。從我台北工作室向外可以俯瞰到對面大樓的社區空間,然後我以幾乎是寫生的狀態完成了《棕櫚花季》此幅畫作,在移民署大樓內部,從密閉的大片玻璃窗可以看到外面有鳥群休息的天台,因此而創作了《鳥園》這幅作品,這些都是我時常經過的地方,甚至移民署大樓就是我當時因服役而待了近一年的地方。在移民署,早上的辦公桌到了晚上的加班時間則會成為我作畫的工作室,然後我總是在隔天早上以前就必須整理回原本的樣子,我就生活在移民署的大樓裡,這些畫作是我晚上在樓內遊蕩以及大樓週邊、台北小南門區域散步時所繪的。
在我去德國居住之前,我就很喜歡Joseph Beuys和Anselm Kiefer的作品,我不會說我的作品受到哪一位藝術家的影響,Joseph Beuys的作品之所以對我來說很重要的原因,是因為我會一直去想它,可能過了一段時間,又會反覆的去思考他的作品。反覆這件事,就像是我在個人網站上的編排方式,我並不是以隔開每個系列作品的方式去做編排,而是放上我書寫作品的文章,內容為自己從以前到現在所做的作品,是如何啟發我去思考,如何讓我去生產知識。對我來說,製作一檔新的展覽,就是一次重新回看自身作品的機會,而經由反覆性的書寫,作品裡頭的多面性也能更為完整而豐富的呈現。
當我2016年底移居德國之後,這一年多的時間,我思考的是關於同志、勞工與移民的處境,同時,這也是我在德國的三種身份的交疊。我在德國以勞力獲取生活費,並經歷了德國在2017年10月才剛落實的同志婚姻法,同年12月在德國結婚。我以為到了一個新的地方,我原本的創作方法可能無法繼續下去,於是我只是好好的生活了一年,並且持續的書寫日記。直到一年後,我重新翻閱我在德國所書寫的日記時,才又像是一個破解密碼的編劇,試圖找到這些日記之間的關係。我有些日記內容會直接在社交媒體平台上貼出,我發現這些立即書寫並且公開貼出的文章,它們的日期數字就像是一種重複,1月11日、2月12日、3月23日等等,於是這次個展我從這一年所挑選的日記開始,並將之命名為《沙漏》,它代表了我對於“重複”和“反覆”這兩件事情的生活經歷與觀點,也暗示了我是如何去思考個體在世界中的位置,藉由回看自身的羞恥,才能找到榮耀之處,這些數字也代表了兩個事物的並存。

事物的並存
在法蘭克福的冬季,因為窗外雪地上浮起了覆蓋在下面的地磚花紋,而啟發了我書寫《賞雪》這篇日記,而後創作出《回家路上》這幅畫作。《後院風景》則是我在法蘭克福居住時,每天從廚房能看到的景色,這裡的風景讓我想到了夜跑系列裡面的《棕櫚花季》,於是我決定將它畫下來。在2016年四月的某一天,我從台北的工作室向外可以俯瞰到對面大樓的社區空間,在觀察對面社區大樓的過程中,我嘗試將平時難以察覺或者其實本意就是刻意製造出讓人忽略的公共空間,運用繪畫的想像去表現出容易被行人忽視的棕櫚花期、停車場入口的洞穴、存在於兩棟大樓之間縫隙的海景,以及被私人社區化的公共空間等,它們彼此之間構成了一種奇特卻又符合當代生活的視角。
有一天,我跟友人們去了法蘭克福一處很受在地人喜愛的度假湖泊,游到湖的另外一側,就是當地有名的天體營海灘,當我看到在天體營岸邊穿上衣物的友人時,他站在陰影處與垃圾桶一景的畫面很觸動我,身上的衣物彷彿跟這些在陰影處被雜亂置放的垃圾一樣,於是我決定發展這件作品。天體營起源於德國北方一處海岸,當時東西德雖然處於分裂時期,但是在政治環境的壓迫下,人們共同的需求便是在大自然中享受身體的解放,這種對於自由的追求很迷人,也讓我去思考什麼是自由。從偷窺陌生人的肉體欲望到提供服務的勞動者,以及天體營欲提倡的平等、尊重等概念,這三者裡頭所涵蓋的情感經驗在一個人的日常生活裡可能是並存的。
在書寫《沙漏》這11篇日記時,有8篇是在天氣變化往往在一瞬間發生的德國生活時期所寫下的,可能身處在突如其來的大風之後,緊接著的一場大雨讓自己變得狼狽不堪,過沒多久,一抹陽光照在自己臉上,這裡的天氣也是並存著的。經歷了這些天氣變化,我從自然環境中取得靈感,去書寫何謂信任與自由、關於努力、生活原本的樣子是什麼以及描繪寂寞和不被理解的感受等等。當我身邊的年輕朋友一個一個離鄉背井,去國外工作、留學、生活時,我在移民署因為有製作年刊的任務,所以時常要跟著長官開會,在會議中,也會討論到年輕人口外流的問題,但是提出的解決辦法卻是欲透過東南亞移民來填補這個缺口,身為年輕一代,我感到憤怒。與此同時,我開始去提出關於移民的想像是什麼,何為移民?移民與移動的關係是什麼?於是後來才創作了移民署時期的繪畫與《夜跑系列》,裡頭也包括了從日移到夜,作息改變的時間移民。更早之前的《民生里民生里》則是在年輕一代社會運動興起時期所做的,在社會運動發生的當下,討論的多半會是相對具體的做法,於是我當時在思考這件事,並嘗試如何去打開個體與個體之間連結的可能,而不是集體行動或分工合作的方式,《民生里民生里》透過社交媒體之於年輕一代的關係,去想像個體與個體之間“連結”與“敘事發展”的可能。從《共遊計劃》裡的遊客,《民生里民生里》裡頭的在地居民,移民署時期的繪畫與《夜跑系列》裡的移民,因累積至今的書寫與展覽,讓我開啟了對於遊客、在地居民與移民(裡頭也包括了從日移到夜,作息改變的時間移民)的想像,並使我的作品成為了對當下經歷事件的反省。
在2016年《川型敘事》的個展中,我挑選了於梨華的小說《又見棕櫚又見棕櫚》作為展覽的線索來源,這本小說其實是一本描寫愛情的小說,它敘事的背景為台灣在1960年代美援時期,年輕人離鄉背井到美國唸書、打工,十年後返鄉發現到與原本家人、朋友之間價值觀認知產生種種差異,而藉由棕櫚樹來描繪主角內心不同時期的心境。

「他現在記得那個夏天終於找到了事,每夜開運冰的大卡車來往於三藩市與卡美爾之間。像一節火車那麼長的卡車,從夜裡十二點開到清晨五點。世界在平安地熟睡時,他卻絕望地醒著,睜著拉滿紅絲的眼,望著崎嶇的山路,不是山腳下,罩在輕霧裡藍得叫人暈睡的海。在他的背後,是幾千斤令人僵直的冰,在他的身前,是幾十層叫人心寒的峻巖,他心裡燒著絕望憤怒與不甘的火,慢慢地爬著,開著,行著人間最寂寞的掙扎的路。」
—-於犁華長篇小說《又見棕櫚˙又見棕櫚》,1967年出版。

從《又見棕櫚又見棕櫚》在載冰卡車上的這段內容,以及韓國電影《我只是一個計程車司機》和影響我至深的日本小說《春天,相遇在巴尼斯百貨》裡的《休息站》一文,都呈現了基層人員在面對重複的日常光景裡,內心無法述說的情感經驗。在《沙漏》日記裡頭,從寄錯了我無法閱讀的法文書開始,結束在描繪心理層面不被理解的感受,從《賞雪》跟小說、電影裡左打方向盤的畫面,去找出生活裡原本的樣子以及重拾勇氣的動力。在台灣近幾年挖掘歷史的風潮當中,我也同時在反省,當我將歷史的空缺視為一存在,那麼我所能做的另外一面,便是開啟個體在不同情感上的摸索與討論。暗示生活的困境,直面生活裡壓抑與羞恥的部分,去意識到在逐漸遺失精神的當代生活樣貌之中,因事物並存的可能而所能獲得的一絲希望。